Skip to content
June 10, 2013 / thegirlwiththedinotattoo

we all know you were the best generation, thanks for changing the world on us

I was born in 1985, which makes me a part of either the Gen Y or Millennial generations, depending on which text you read (some call them the same generation – make it consistent people).  This also means I was around when people would send you the most annoying email chains that clearly were not important enough to have been hand written to everyone and could only be the spawn of an age of email.  Also, I have the worst luck coming to me eventually because I never forwarded them, so it’s a good thing I don’t believe in luck.

Anyways, among those emails was that infamous one that we all remember about how great it was when our parents or grandparents were children – kids played outside, there were no safety helmets/pads/warnings/gear, etc and kids would occasionally get hurt and learn from those situations instead of suing someone else for their problems(here’s a video in case you haven’t read the email chains).  They probably also thought that politicians were also less corrupt in those days, but don’t get me started on politics, that’ll turn into a rant.  Also, wasn’t segregation still legal during that time?  Yeah, I’m pretty sure the black community isn’t quite so reminiscent about the 40’s and 50’s, but I live in New England where they like to preach about diversity rather than live it.

What I don’t understand is how that generation can parade around how great their childhood was and complain about how bad it is nowadays when they’re the ones who changed our society.  If your childhood was so great, then why did you allow your child to sit inside and play videogames all day once you became the parent, teaching them that they should never be hurt and utilizing the ability to sue one another to further instill the mindset that there’s always someone else to blame for your problems (and yes, I see the irony here, that I’m blaming them for “my” problems with society, but between my lack of being alive or able to vote for the majority of this time, I’m going to let the blame go to them; I’ll take full my responsibility on the shaping of today’s society).  I actually once got so frustrated about this at work that when a bunch of coworkers, who were a bit older than me, were talking about “their great childhood and oh kids these days”  and I pointed out that yeah that’s great, but then you grew up and changed the rules and regulations that define “kids these days”.  I don’t think my boss liked me much after that.

Trust me, I agree with most of what they’re talking about – I would love for all those helicopter parents to back the heck up and allow their children to grow, and scrape a knee, and eat dirt, and learn to socialize without any parents around….However, we’re also now in an age of open acceptance, where anti-bullying and LGBT groups abound, and I’m sure there are plenty of people who wish those had been around in their childhood.  We also have schools that allow anyone from any race to attend.

So I’m sorry that I tune out anyone who starts talking about how bad it is today compared to “back when” – you voted for those changes, and now I’m living with the consequences.  On the other hand, my parents raised me to be a competent human being, so me and my work ethic look great in comparison to the rest of my generation – thanks guys!

