Skip to content
July 3, 2015 / thegirlwiththedinotattoo

a broke bibliophile’s evening

It’s Thursday July 2nd, the start of a three day weekend, with great weather, and I’ve spent the last few hours reading indoors.  About two hours ago I mentioned something to my husband about wanting to be productive on something before it got too late, but that never happened, unless you count major progress on the book I’m currently reading.  Part of me felt as though I should have even done something more exciting if not productive, I mean it’s a three day weekend!  But nope, for hours as the sun set and fireworks began crackling in the distance, my husband and I quietly sat in the ever-dimming living room, eventually turning on the one lamp between us, each absorbed in our own literary worlds (Bluebeard by Kurt Vonnegut for him, Mr.Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan for me).

It was lovely.

And I couldn’t help but think about how pleasant this whole evening has been.  While part of me twinged about not being productive, I have the next few days to get the chores and craft projects done, and I know that going for a walk would have only aggravated the lovely summer cold I’ve been nursing for a week now.  Also, we have no money to spend on doing things anyways.  I’m not really exaggerating here, our expected bills for the next few weeks far surpass our expected income, and as I slowly cancel vacation plans and delay social events, I couldn’t help but truly enjoy the evening spent with my best friend, devouring yet another library find, not having spent a dollar.  Probably even in the electrical bill, there really is only one light on in the whole apartment.

I think there’s something to be said for finding ways to enjoy your time, day, and life without spending much money on most situations.  Don’t get me wrong, I love eating out and going to bars, travelling and trying new experiences.  I just feel as though I am forced to be more creative and appreciative of what is already at my fingertips when I find myself scraping bottom.  Perhaps this is the peace that I pray for in these instances, and it certainly helps to build my faith to know that whatever is next that I’ll be taken car of.

It helps living in an area where there are great resources – I already have replaced our previous travel with stay-cation plans to be filled with bike rides, afternoons at the beach, visits to the local museum, and other items that I am blessed to have free in the town that we currently reside.  All I need to do is keep off the ol’ FB which will inevitably make me jealous seeing fabulous pictures of friends’ international travel and bar crawls.  Comparison is the thief of joy.

The hubby has moved onto the guitar as I have moved onto the blog, and I foresee the rest of our night filled with Broad City episodes and Asian goodies from my trip to H-Mart last month.  We’re barely scraping by right now, but I can’t stop counting my blessings (like already having paid for Amazon Prime for the year!).  And sometimes it’s good to be forced to relax, rest up a bit, and dive into an enthralling literary adventure.  The Cape, or Europe, will still be there next year.

